Resources for Skeptical, De-Converting, and Former Christians…

The title of the post, Don’t Ask Me to Read Your Holy Book, caught my eye today while surfing around WordPress. I’m always fascinated to hear why people do or do not choose to become Christians. This writer makes a good point about something a lot of Christians suggest in an effort to evangelize: “Read the Bible, it’ll prove Jesus was who He said, you’ll see how true everything is.” The point made in this post is that the book itself cannot prove its own validity. Point taken.

However, one thing the writer does not take into account (or perhaps does not know) is that Christians believe the Bible is more than just a book. We believe it is actually the living word of God.

In an interview I was shooting with Avalon last week, one of the members, Jody McBrayer, quoted some verses that are particularly meaningful to Him right now. As he was talking, you could see the other members becoming emotional. Greg Long commented that hearing those words that were written so long ago quoted by someone clinging to them in the present, helped him realize once again that it truly is a Living Word. It never changes, yet its principles apply to all life, all generations.

This writer is correct. In general, a book cannot be its own validating source. And there are other sources that prove at least the historical information in the Bible. However, when it comes to moving past just reading, it becomes a matter of faith. Unfortunately, there is no validating source for faith. It is a choice, a leap into the unknown, a trusting of things that perhaps cannot be seen or “proven”.

Peace. Out.

4 thoughts on “Resources for Skeptical, De-Converting, and Former Christians…

  1. Kelly Gorski says:

    Yes, but the problem with this is that faith is belief without reason, and this type of faith-based thinking is impeding other areas of life (particularly legislation and education). Personal belief is one thing; politicized belief is another entirely.

  2. THERE ARE 3 REASONS WHY I KNOW THERE IS A GOD. 1)THE POWER OF PRAYER. GOD HAS CHANGED MY LIFE. I USED TO BE THE WORST SINNER I KNOW. YOU THINK ABOUT IT & I PROBABLY DID IT. I WAS IN VA HOSPITAL & DR. SAID MY EKG SHOWED NEEDED A PACEMAKER. LOST PASSPORT IN GUATEMALA. BANK DEBIT CARD MISSING. WIFE DIVORCED ME & SAID I HIT HER. SAID PRAYER RE PACEMAKER & DR. TESTED AGAIN SAID HEART NORMAL. LOST PASSPORT FOUND IN GUATEMALA & NOTIFIED BY THE EMBASSY TO PICK IT UP. DEBIT CARD NO WHERE & PRAYED FOR GOD’S HELP. FOUND ON TABLE 4 PEOPLE HAD LOOKED AT & NONE OF US SAW IT. BULLIT HIT ME IN KUWAIT & CLINICALLY DEAD. 4 DAYS LATER BECAME CONSCIOUS & I HAD BEEN TO HEAVEN BUT WAS TOLD I HAD MORE WORK TO DO ON EARTH & MUST RETURN. WIFE IN COURT FOR DIVORCE & JUDGE ASKED HER ABOUT I HIT HER WHERE. NO MARK & NO PHOTO MADE JUDGE RULE IN MY FAVOR. WIFE WANTED A LOT OF MY ASSETS BUT I PLACED THEM UNDER DIFFERENT NAMES IN SEVERAL COUNTRIES RESULTING IN HER WITH 25% & ME WITH 75%. I HAVE WOKEN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT AND TALKED TO GOD. THESE THINGS ONLY STARTED 3 YEARS AGO WHEN I ACCEPTED JESUS AS MY SAVIOR.

  3. Jerry says:

    Shooting for Avalon? Where do you guys work now?

  4. Leah says:

    I love this article. And I can vouc for the validity of the Living Word of God. I recently find myself clinging to a scripture that was written for a woman in the Old Testament, yet it is so real to who and where I am today.

    You may have inspired me to blog again, young lady.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

